Contact Details

60 Main Street
Great Western, VIC 3377

Email :
Contact Dianne Radford (President)

P: 0419 316 920

Ararat Facebook Page

Sergeant John McNally, a local policeman was killed on the goldfields at Mount Ararat on 16th October 1856 and is buried at the local Cathcart cemetery. He was the first member of the Victoria Police Force to be feloniously slain in the line of duty.

The Ararat Branch of Victoria Police Blue Ribbon Foundation was established in February 2002 to perpetuate the memory of Sgt McNally and over $1,000,000 has since been donated to East Grampians Health Service (Ararat Hospital).

The Black-Tie Gala ‘Night of Nights’ in May and Grampians ‘Ride to Remember’ in February are the annual major fundraisers and both are supported by a most generous community.

Donations to the health service for projects completed since 2002 include $63,000 for the ‘John McNally’ Emergency Department, $150,000 for the ‘John McNally’ Emergency Helicopter Landing Pad, $136,000 for the ‘John McNally’ Medical Imaging Department for a General and a Portable X Ray Machine in addition to $150,000 for an Image Intensifier and Computorised Radiography, and $50,000 for a new Microscope in the Peri-operative Unit. In 2014 the Ararat Branch donated $150,000 to match a $200,000 contribution from the East Grampians Health Service ‘Building for the Future’ Foundation for the purchase of a CT Scanner for the ‘John McNally’ Medical Imaging Department.

In May 2015 the Ararat Branch announced a $150,000 project for the Peri-operative Unit which included the redesign and refurbishment of the Theatre Recovery and Day Procedure. In conjunction with this was the important announcement of a new police naming of a local young man, Jason Bond who had only been a member of Victoria Police for a short time, a police officer in training who died as a result of a motor vehicle accident in 2011.

In May 2019 at the 18th annual Gala ‘Nights of Nights’ the Ararat Branch in conjunction with the Blue Ribbon Foundation announced the naming of the Blue Ribbon Foundation Wing as part of the forthcoming redevelopment of the Medical Imaging and Pathology Departments. In addition, the Ararat Branch made a commitment of $235,000 to support the purchase of a replacement General X Ray Machine.

Pleasingly in 2022, at the 20th Gala ‘Night of Nights’ the Ararat Branch announced that not only had they reached their target of $235,000 it was with much pleasure to announce over $1,000,000 had been reached, an incredible 20-year milestone to celebrate.

2023 finally saw the Dedication of the Blue Ribbon Foundation Wing (April) and the Ararat Branch take on another new project for a $135,000 General Ultrasound Machine for the area. Significantly within 12 months, with fantastic community support the Branch made the final payment in March 2024, an amazing effort.

Today, as in the past the Ararat Branch is indebted to the ongoing generosity of the community and together with the strong partnership with the ACE Radio Network, AME Systems, Ararat Rural City and many others we are committed to supporting East Grampians Health Service to make a difference for all in the community.

* VALE: Sadly in February 2022, the Ararat Branch inaugural and long-time President, Terry Weeks APM OAM passed away however the Ararat Branch members are fully committed to continuing his legacy into the future.

* Importantly, Blue Ribbon perpetuates the memory of all Victoria Police who have died in the line of duty.

Ararat Branch: Dianne Radford OAM (President), Acting Sgt Shaun Allen (Vice President), Jess Seres (Hon Secretary), Chris Emmerson (Hon Treasurer), Stuart Kerr, Peter McIntosh, Dean Pinniger, Jodie Holwell, Sgt Sandra Marriner, Nick Bush, Kirsty Millson, Kate Gleeson

2022 East Grampians Health Service dinner acknowledging the support of the Blue Ribbon Foundation Ararat Branch. Current Ararat Branch members, L-R, Jodie Holwell, Shaun Allen, Jess Seres, Stuart Kerr, Dean Pinniger, Nick Bush, Sandra Marriner, Dianne Radford, VPBRF CEO Neil Soullier, and Peter McIntosh (absent Chris Emmerson and Kirsty Millson).